top of page

Legal Remedies When Wife Refuses for a Divorce

Updated: May 25

Divorce is the legal termination of a marriage, and while it is often a challenging process, it may be necessary for the well-being of both individuals involved. In cases where both parties mutually agree to the divorce, the process is typically straightforward and less contentious. However, when one partner refuses to consent to the divorce, the other partner must seek legal remedies to dissolve the marriage. Under Indian law, the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955, provides various grounds upon which a spouse can file for divorce without mutual consent.

legal remedies when wife refuses for a divorce

Divorce by Mutual Consent Under Section 13B:

Divorce by mutual consent under Section 13B of the Hindu Marriage Act provides a streamlined approach for couples seeking to dissolve their marriage amicably.

  1. Filing the Joint Petition: Both parties jointly file a petition for divorce in the appropriate court, stating they have been living separately for at least one year and have mutually agreed to dissolve the marriage.

  2. Cooling-Off Period: A mandatory six-month cooling-off period is imposed to allow for reflection and potential reconciliation.

  3. Second Motion: If both parties remain committed to the divorce, they file a second motion within 18 months from the date of the initial filing.

  4. Final Decree: The court issues a final decree of divorce if all legal requirements are met and the couple still wishes to proceed with the divorce.

Divorce by Contested Divorce Under Section 13(1) When Wife Refuses to Consent

When the wife refuses to consent to a mutual divorce, the husband can pursue a contested divorce under Section 13 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955. Section 13(1) outlines specific grounds on which a spouse can petition for a contested divorce:

  1. Adultery: Engaging in voluntary sexual intercourse with someone other than the spouse is considered adultery and is a valid ground for divorce.

  2. Cruelty: If one spouse subjects the other to physical or mental cruelty, making it intolerable to continue living together, it constitutes cruelty and is grounds for divorce.

  3. Desertion: Abandonment by one spouse without reasonable cause and without the consent of the other spouse for a continuous period of at least two years is considered desertion.

  4. Conversion to Another Religion: If a spouse converts to another religion and ceases to be a Hindu, Jain, Buddhist, or Sikh, it is a valid ground for divorce.

  5. Mental Disorder: Continuous and incurable mental illness or mental disorder of such a nature that it is unreasonable to expect the other spouse to live with the affected spouse is a ground for divorce. Under Section 13(1)(iii), relief can be provided if the spouse: Is incapable of giving valid consent to marriage due to their mental state. Though capable of giving consent, is unfit for marriage and procreation of children. Has been subject to recurrent attacks of insanity.

  6. Communicable Venereal Disease: The spouse is suffering from a serious communicable venereal disease.

  7. Renunciation: The spouse has renounced the world by entering any religious order.

  8. Presumption of Death: The spouse has not been heard of as being alive for a period of seven years or more by those who would naturally have heard of them if they were alive.

Looking for a Lawyer, talk to our team

Procedure for Contested Divorce:

When a partner refuses to consent to a divorce, the other spouse can proceed with a contested divorce. The steps involved in the contested divorce process are as follows:

  1. Drafting the Petition: The spouse seeking the divorce (the petitioner) must draft a petition stating the facts and grounds for divorce under Section 13 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955.

  2. Filing the Petition: The petition is filed in the appropriate family court. The court then reviews the petition to ensure it meets the necessary legal requirements.

  3. Issuance of Summons: If the court is satisfied with the petition, it issues summons or notices to the other spouse (the respondent), informing them of the divorce petition and the date of the hearing.

  4. Mediation: At this stage, the court may suggest mediation to facilitate reconciliation between the parties. If mediation fails, the court proceeds with the divorce hearings.

  5. Court Hearings: On the scheduled date, both parties appear before the court. They present their statements, submit evidence, produce witnesses if any, and undergo cross-examination. The legal counsels for both parties present their final arguments.

  6. Judgment and Decree: After considering all the evidence and arguments, the court passes a judgment. If the court finds the grounds for divorce to be valid, it issues a divorce decree.

  7. Appeal: The aggrieved party has the right to appeal the court's decision within three months from the date of the order.


When a wife refuses to agree to a divorce, the husband can pursue a contested divorce under Section 13 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955. Understanding the grounds for divorce and following the correct legal procedures are crucial. Legal representation is essential to navigate the complexities and ensure that your rights are protected throughout the process. Additionally, Section 13B provides a structured approach for couples seeking divorce by mutual consent, ensuring a fair and systematic dissolution of marriage.

Looking for a Lawyer, talk to our team

6 views0 comments


ได้รับ 0 เต็ม 5 ดาว

bottom of page