top of page

Understanding Intestate Succession in India

Updated: Mar 12

In India, the concept of legal heirs plays a crucial role in determining the distribution of assets and property after the death of an individual. These laws are primarily governed by the Indian Succession Act of 1925, which outlines the rules and regulations for the inheritance and distribution of assets, as well as the process for dealing with wills and testamentary dispositions.

What is Intestate Succession in India ?

When a person passes away without leaving a valid will (intestate), the laws of intestate succession come into play. In such cases, the legal heirs are determined based on the personal laws of the deceased person. These personal laws vary depending on one's religion, and they include the Hindu Succession Act, Muslim Personal Law, Christian Succession Law, and Parsi Succession Law.

Hindu Succession Act: Intestate Succession under Hindu Law

Under the Hindu Succession Act, legal heirs are classified into two classes: Class I and Class II heirs. Class I heirs typically include the deceased's spouse, children, and mother. In the absence of Class I heirs, the property devolves upon Class II heirs, who consist of other close relatives such as parents, siblings, nephews, and nieces. It's important to note that the Hindu Succession Act was amended in 2005 to grant daughters equal rights as sons in ancestral property, marking a significant step towards gender equality in inheritance laws.

Muslim Personal Law: Intestate Succession under Islamic Law

In Muslim Personal Law, legal heirs are classified into two groups: sharers and residuaries. Sharers are entitled to receive a fixed share of the deceased person's estate, which is predetermined by Islamic law and typically includes spouses, children, parents, and grandparents. The remaining property, known as the residue, is distributed among the residuaries, who are often more distant relatives such as siblings, nephews, and nieces. Islamic law ensures that each legal heir receives a fair and just portion of the deceased person's estate, as outlined in the Quran and Hadith.

Christian Succession Law: Intestate Succession under Christian Law

Under Christian Succession Law, legal heirs are determined according to the Indian Succession Act of 1925. The act specifies the order of succession, which typically includes spouses, children, and other relatives such as parents, siblings, and nephews/nieces. However, in the absence of specific provisions under Christian personal law, the succession process closely follows the guidelines outlined in the Indian Succession Act.

Parsi Succession Law: Insights into Parsi Succession Law

In Parsi Succession Law, inheritance is governed by the Indian Succession Act, 1925, with specific provisions tailored to Parsi individuals. The act outlines the rules for the distribution of assets among legal heirs, which may include spouses, children, parents, and other relatives. Additionally, Parsi personal law incorporates customs and traditions specific to the Parsi community, ensuring that their cultural and religious practices are respected in matters of succession and inheritance. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Intestate Succession in India ?

Q1: What is intestate succession in India ?

A1: Intestate succession refers to the legal process of distributing the assets and property of a deceased individual who did not leave behind a valid will. In such cases, the inheritance is determined according to the laws of intestate succession, which vary based on the personal laws applicable to the deceased person's religion.

Q2: How are legal heirs determined under intestate succession?

A2: The determination of legal heirs under intestate succession depends on the personal laws applicable to the deceased person's religion. For example, under Hindu law, legal heirs are classified into Class I and Class II heirs, while under Muslim law, they are categorized as sharers and residuaries.

Q3: Can daughters inherit ancestral property under intestate succession?

A3: Yes, the rights of daughters to inherit ancestral property have been significantly strengthened in recent years. For instance, the Hindu Succession Act was amended in 2005 to grant daughters equal rights as sons in ancestral property, irrespective of whether the deceased died testate or intestate.

Q4: What happens if there are disputes among legal heirs regarding inheritance?

A4: Disputes among legal heirs regarding inheritance are not uncommon, especially in cases of intestate succession. In such situations, the matter may be resolved through legal proceedings in court. It is advisable for all parties involved to seek legal counsel to ensure a fair and equitable resolution of the dispute.

Q5: How can one establish their status as a legal heir?

A5: To establish one's status as a legal heir, obtaining a legal heirship certificate or a succession certificate may be necessary. These certificates serve as legal proof of one's entitlement to the deceased person's assets and property. The process for obtaining these certificates may vary depending on the jurisdiction and the specific circumstances of the case.

Q6: Are there any time limits for claiming inheritance under intestate succession?

A6: Yes, there are generally time limits within which legal heirs must claim their inheritance under intestate succession. Failure to do so within the prescribed time limits may result in forfeiture of the inheritance rights. It is advisable to consult with a legal expert to understand the relevant time limits applicable to your situation.


Are you looking for a legal advice regarding property matters, connect with our team of expert Advocates.

51 views0 comments


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page